First Post! Killing the Blues…

Welcome to Lost Melodies! On this site, I will share my interest in musicians and songs with you. Please comment on my postings. I don't mind if you disagree with my thoughts, but I ask that you please be courteous

Today, I would like to share with you my interest in a song called Killing The Blues. I think that it's a mighty fine song and I would like to provide you with several versions to explore.

The song is written by Roly Salley. Salley is (was?) part of the Woodstock Mountain Revue. You can visit his website and purchase CDs and/or artwork at http://www.rowlandsalley.com I know very little about this group. However, the lyrics as well as the song are beautiful. The song goes as follows:

Leaves were falling, just like embers,
In colors red and gold, they set us on fire
Burning just like moonbeams in our eyes.
Chorus:
Somebody said they saw me, swinging the world by the tail
Bouncing over a white cloud, killing the blues.

Now I’m guilty of something …
I hope you never do
Because there is nothing
Any sadder than losing yourself in love.

Chorus

And then you’ve ask me …just to leave you
To set out on my own
And get what I needed.
You want me to find what I’ve already had

I was able to find a copy of this song online perfermed by the Woodstock Mountain Revue. I believe this is the original version of the song, though I think I prefer the Smither and Prine versions.

There are several other versions which are quite good as well. Two that I know of are performed by Chris Smither and John Prine. They are all different and all touching.

Here is a clip of the John Prine version
and a clip of a Chris Smither version

Let me know what you think!


5 thoughts on “First Post! Killing the Blues…

  1. Kelly says:

    Hey, haven’t had a chance to listen (rushing out the door as usual)but the lyrics are interesting…kinda pretty, poetic. I wonder if it will sound in sync (not NSync!) for me…in other words, if the style matches up with how the words sound to me… but gotta listen later. 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    I really like the lyrics of that one song by Roly Salley–they are very pretty.

  3. Sarah says:

    Hey Rob, this is a cool site. I actually have heard of and heard the music of some of these. The others I think I’ll look up when I have more time. Thanks!

  4. anthony venagrick says:

    Many years ago, I heard Shawn Colvin play Killing the Blues – solo/acoustic on a Seattle radio station. I wrote to her and mentioned that she should put it on an album. It was on the next album. Don’t have any idea about te influence of my note, but still remember the song as being one of the most beautiful that I have ever heard.

  5. Tom says:

    Don’t know if this site is still alive, but this wonderful song is undergoing another renaissance with the cover by Allison Krauss and Robert Plant on their Grammy winning Album of the Year “Raisin Sand.” Huge fan of John Prine and I had always assumed he wrote it, songwriter that he is, so thanks for the info. ( btw, his cover link is dead here) Anyway it truly is a beautiful song. Peace, love, dove. — Tom

Leave a Reply

