More on John Prine

Yesterdays posting about Killing the Blues got me thinking about John Prine…

John Prine, in my opinion, is one of the most under rated singer-songwriters out there. He is sometimes called the "poor man's Dylan." I don't think that is fair to John Prine. Others call him "Country." If one thinks of modern country music- i.e. Toby Keith, Hank Williams III, Tim McGraw, Prine does not seem to be country at all. He is more along the lines of folk or possibly "old" country. His sound and lyrics are mature, seasoned, and heartfelt.

So, after seeing John Prine several years ago at the Philly Folk Fest, I purchased the John Prine Anthology. It's worth its weight in gold.

Here are some things I love about this anthology:

Angel From Montgomery (performed with Bonnie Raitt)" : This is such a fine song. I can't say enough good things about this song (yes, it was written by John Prine even though it's written in the female voice). Another duet (performed with Steve Goodman) is Souvenirs. The tune and lyrics are amazing.

Illegal Smile has a line that I love: "A bowl of oatmeal tried to stare me down…and won." Please Don't Bury Me, Dear Abby, and Linda Goes To Mars are all hilarious songs. I don't want to give any of those lyrics away, they are well worth listening to.

If you haven't heard John Prine's music before, check him out. Tomorrow's posting- on one of Rocks often forgotten greats…

One thought on “More on John Prine

  1. Kelly says:

    Here here for “old country” which to me (in my limited knowledge) does overlap in the tradiional/folk category.

    I can’t stand 99.99% modern country (Garth Brooks and Vince Gill noted exceptions), but can appreciate the traditional/traditional sounding (Alison Krauss & Union Station, or even the country/pop sound of The Eagles or Pure Prairie League. Toby Keith can take his red statedness (Courtesy of the Red White and Blech….., and shove it up his red stated arse.)But I digress…

    One slight problem. KT and I can’t listen to any of the clips. I’m thinking I’m missing a codec for Windows Media Player…but the question is..which one?

    So I tried the link to the anthology and that worked and for some reason I listened to “Fish and Whistle,”(the real player link) if nothing else for the reason the title was completely random sounding. Can definitely hear a why people compare him to Bob Dylan, but this guy has a better voice.

    Liked Angel from Montgomery. Now I must find out what’s wrong with Windows Media Player.

Leave a Reply

