WHO are you?

Sure, I agree that The Who is featured in too many commercials. Everything from Hummer's commercial featuring Happy Jack to countless commercials that use the song Bargain. Additionally, every season of CSI has used a song by The Who as it's theme songs! The Who has even been on The Simpsons. Am I saying that The Who has sold out? On the contrary! The Who has always been commercial! On the BBC Sessions recordings (recorded 10/10/67), the band recorded two radio jingles butchering their songs My Generation and Boris the Spider for purposes of radio promotions. So, what we see has been a continuation of past endeavors. Who can blame a musician for wanting to profit on his music? I'm sure many people disagree with me, but hey…

Anyway, you wanted to hear something different, hip, something you maybe hadn't heard before by The Who? Here is a link to a video for the song Eminence Front The lyrics are strange and include the following lines:

Come on join the party
Dress to kill
Won't you come and join
the party
Dress to kill.

Well, I just found out that Eminence Front is actually featured in Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. So, maybe you have heard that song… So, another rarely played song is I Don't Even Know Myself. This version is performed Live at The Isle of Wright Festival in 1970. I bought the album solely to have a copy of this song. Though the CDs rock and include a live version of TOMMY.

Related Tags: music, lyrics, The Who, Happy Jack, Bargain, The Simpsons, My Generation, Grand Theft Auto, TOMMY, youtube

4 thoughts on “WHO are you?

  1. Abbey says:

    Yeah Eminence Front is an awesome Who song. I am pretty impressed with your website here. And I am patting myself on the back for knowing about some things you have featured, such as this song and Warren Zevon (a one-time Philly resident as I’m sure you know). Anyway good job on the website.

  2. Kelly says:

    Weird..I know Eminence Front, and I have no idea why. I know the lyrics.

    3 minutes later…these guys I went to college with..Matt and Paul..did an acoustic cover of it. Shame they never recorded..they were good. And I need a copy of this song..by the real Who

  3. The Who Rules says:

    Man, what are you talking about??!!! The Who are the most underated band ever! Ok, so they are on a few commericals, but that’s cuz they ROCK! Oh, and the thing you said about never selling out a concert? thats just bull man. They STILL sell out, even if they are almost 60. That’s saying something. They have been my favourite band ever scince I heard Pinball Wizard almost 4 years ago. And by the way, My Generation & Boris the Spider were number 1 for a long time. You gotta respect your ansestors. =|

  4. lostmelodies says:

    I agree that they are very under rated. I never said anything about not selling out a concert. “Selling out” means ” the compromising of one’s integrity in exchange for money or other personal gain. It is commonly associated with attempts to increase mass appeal or acceptability to mainstream society. A person who does this is labeled a sellout. ” I am a HUGE Who fan. I think you misunderstood the post if you think otherwise.

Leave a Reply

