Classic Dylan

One of my favorite Dylan albums is Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan. I recently came across out takes from these sessions, which I had to share! Also, I have had a couple of friendly arguments with friends about Dylan. Here are the two questions and my take on it, feel free to let me know what you think.

1. Is Dylan “folk”? My answer is no. He draws on his folk roots. But has long abandoned the genre of being strictly a folk artist. You could even go as far as saying that that Dylan is rock artist; you are not being sacrilegious. My friends seem to think that Dylan is a folk artist. Thoughts?

2. Is Bob Dylan Hippie music? Again, my answer is no. There may be some Hippies who enjoy Dylan’s music, but Dylan can’t be considered Hippie music as The Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Phish etc. could. Again, thoughts?

Related Tags: Bob Dylan, Dylan

One thought on “Classic Dylan

  1. timglass says:

    Dylan himself would be the first to tell you that he hates to be categorized. As a person, musician or singer. He is in a class by himself, regardless of who follows him or how they try to make him fit in their mold. For when you say “Dylan” everyone knows who you are talking about. And he goes about doing his own thing the way he wants to and not the way everyone else says he should.
    So my thought is Dylan is Dylan.

Leave a Reply

