Lost Dylan: Dylan does Hank Williams

There are a number of versions of the Hank William’s song Lonesome Whistle Blow including Bobby Darin’s rock infused version and even a version by Beck. The rendition that I wanted to share with you is the Bob Dylan version apparently recorded during the Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan recording session but did not make it onto the album for whatever reason. Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan is among my favorite records and this song would have worked great as part of the album. His voice sounds great (for Dylan). I am so glad that I found this lost gem. Post your thoughts. Are there other recordings of Dylan playing this song? Other “lost” Dylan songs that you know of? Provide links.
Related Tags:

One thought on “Lost Dylan: Dylan does Hank Williams

  1. Tom Grasty says:

    I heard about that. I am definately going to have to check that out.

    And I hope I might entice you to check out my new novel, BLOOD ON THE TRACKS.

    It’s a murder-mystery. But not just any rock superstar is knocking on heaven’s door. The murdered rock legend is none other than Bob Dorian, an enigmatic, obtuse, inscrutable, well, you get the picture…

    Suspects? Tons of them. The only problem is they’re all characters in Bob’s songs.

    You can get a copy on Amazon.com or go “behind the tracks” at http://www.bloodonthetracksnovel.com to learn more about the book.

Leave a comment